Priority Landscapes
Intergrated delivery

Landscape-scale conservation aims to take a holistic approach, looking not just at biodiversity but at local economies, agriculture, ecotourism, geodiversity, culture, archaeology, health and social benefits that come with our natural environment.

Therefore, to help consolidate a 50 year vision for biodiversity conservation, the Gloucestershire Biodiversity Partnership identified in 2010 six Priority Landscapes that contained important ecosystems and ecological networks. In theses area integrated delivery through effective partnership working and/or specific project development was either planned, or was already being delivered.

The following criteria were used to help identify these Priority Landscapes:
  • Delivery of a Priority Habitat that the South West is best placed to deliver nationally can be realised;
  • Application of climate change adaptation principles is possible;
  • Delivery of other social and economic 'public goods' in the landscape could be achieved.
The Priority Landscapes have been used as a basis for the endorsement by the LNP of local 'Nature Improvement Areas' or NIAs. See the delivery page for further details. The Priority Landscapes are also useful for grouping together similar adjacent SNAs (the focus for conservation action) that comprise the Gloucestershire Nature Map.
Perry Tree, May Hill
Perry Tree, May Hill
Cam Long Down
Cam Long Down

County priority landscapes identified for targeting local integrated delivery for the natural environment (2010)
Forest of Dean and Wye Valley
Lower Leadon Vale
Severn Vale
Cotswold Escarpment
Cotswolds River Valleys
Cotswold Water Park
Maps on this page
© Crown Copyright. All rights reserved. Gloucestershire County Council. 1000191342008.
These maps are reproduced from the Ordnance Survey material with the permission of
Ordnance Survey on behalf of the Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery.
Landscape Character
For information on the Landscape Character Assessments for Gloucestershire, visit the Gloucestershire County Council website.
National Character Areas

National Character Areas (NCAs) are defined by their unique combination of landscape, biodiversity, geodiversity, cultural and economic activity. NCA boundaries follow natural lines in the landscape rather than administrative boundaries, making them a good decision making framework for the natural environment. Further details are on the government's webpages.

Privacy & Copyright Information | Useful Links | Feedback Form | Search
© 2018   Gloucestershire LNP